Ipswich Revolution – Pre-Season

Pre- Season is done and dusted, I used the time to trial both tactics, 3 games for each, game one was using the double pivot, game two was using the single pivot, that’s how many games it took me to make 2 massive decisions with my squad, we needed a new DM and a new AM, that could work in both tactics but when their staring role came they could shine brightly. We have only 500k to spend so I dipped into the loan market in search of talent instead, and found a couple of gems…

Jordan joins us from Liverpool he will play as a deep lying playmaker and due to his passing and marking skills, he should blend straight into the role, his work rate and teamwork fit into my team mantra very well as well, I’d love to add him on a full time basis and will be keeping my eyes on this.


My Jewel in the double pivot crown, Correa has the vision passing and footwork skills I want for this role, the fact we dont even have to pay his wages during his loan spell from Sampdoria is a stroke of genius, the young Argentinian could really make a difference to our season.


We used the double pivot here, dominated possesion all game but lacked that creative edge, lead to me finding Correa, otherwise good display, also made me change AM from support to attack.


Single pivot used here with a second string squad, still held possesion well, again lacked a bit of creativity but that will come with unity and familiarity, we looked solid and never felt like we would concede


Both games played with a double pivot, very impressed with how it is holding up, seems to be the go to formation for retaining possesion, even taking on a prem team and holding the ball better than them


Single pivot proved to be equally as effective, the final game against West Ham was a real coup, not a complete team from the Hammers and Moses quality showed when he came on for the last half hour, but I’m happy to move forwards into the season knowing we have some quality about us.

Next update will be able the tactics and how they are working while I wait to get to January. 

Leave a Reply

